NBA Roundtable

Kevin Love Losing Patience In Minnesota

In General NBA on July 9, 2012 at 11:22 am

Marc Spears reports

Team USA’s roster is filled with 12 NBA players who have won seven total championships and appeared in a combined 700 playoff games. Only one of those dozen players has never played in a single postseason game.

Minnesota Timberwolves All-Star forward Kevin Love.

And he’s not happy about it.

In an interview with Yahoo! Sports, Love urged Minnesota’s management to acquire the necessary talent to make the franchise a contender. If the Timberwolves don’t start winning this season, Love isn’t sure how long he’ll want to be a part of Minnesota’s future.

“My patience is not high,” Love said. “Would yours be, especially when I’m a big proponent of greatness surrounding itself with greatness? All these [Team USA] guys seem to have great players around them.

“It’s tough seeing all these guys that are young and older who have all played in the playoffs. When they start talking about that, I have nothing to talk about. If I don’t make the playoffs next year I don’t know what will happen.”

The article continues

Another losing season could change his desire to stay with the franchise long-term.

“At this point, I’m not afraid to go on the record,” Love said. “Being around these [USA] guys, they know the situation I’m in and how competitive I am. I want to win. All the players on the Timberwolves feel the same way, as well. The coaching staff is awesome. They want to win and win now. Hopefully, we can make some stuff happen.

“I would say it’s coming down to it for sure [next season]. It’s no secret I was willing to commit to Minnesota for five years. I’m very happy with my contract. I’d love to be in Minnesota. But like anybody else, I want to win.”

Two Thoughts

First Thought

I hate that. Kevin Love just signed a contract extension less than a year ago. If you feel that way, don’t sign the contract or at least don’t sign as long of a deal.

Whiny little so-and-so.

Players and Trade-Demands

I actually don’t mind players requesting (or demanding) trades to improve their situation but to do so so shortly after signing a contract extension is absolutely ridiculous.

If you are uncertain, hold off on signing the contract. If you sign the deal, you’ve made a commitment and you owe your team a healthy amount of time to build up that roster. You knew what you were signing up for when you signed at the bottom line. You haven’t been lied to. Management hasn’t failed to live up to it’s promises or (unspoken) obligations to you (to give you a legitimate chance to win. You do not have a legitimate grounds to gripe about.

How much of an issues is this for Minnesota?

Minnesota would have probably gotten the 8th seed last season if not for injuries. Good chance they’ll right that next season and they push further on if they address that wing situation.

So, I think they’ll be able to put this to bed fairly quickly … but that that will only be a temporary fix.

The real question is how will they / when will they / can they take the next steps and become a team capable of winning a playoff series to an outside contender to a legitimate title contender. Because when they fail to meet one of those targets, Kevin Love will jump ship.

He is clearly the type of person who’ll jump ship early and refuse to give his team a lengthily opportunity to build around him.

Trade Love?

Personally, I’d consider trading him sooner rather than later if you can get a good return for him because his departure may very well be inevitable.

I believe Love has an opt out clause after his third season to make him an unrestricted free agent. That looks like the prime time for him to leave the team.

