NBA Roundtable

Fisher Stays In LA

In Free Agency on July 13, 2010 at 4:47 am

ESPN reports

Derek Fisher has decided to stay with the Los Angeles Lakers.

“I have decided to continue with Kobe, continue with our teammates and the fans of Los Angeles,” Fisher said in a statement on his website. “While this may not be the most lucrative contract I’ve been offered this offseason, it is the most valuable. I am confident I will continue to lead this team on and off the court. Let the hunt for six begin.”

NBA sources said Fisher’s contract is for three years for $10.5 million with a player option for a third year.

No surprises here. Never expected Fisher to leave LA.

I don’t like this signing for the Lakers. Fisher was clearly struggling and on his last legs throughout the regular season. It was one thing to bring him back on a one year contract but to give him three years? At $10 million? Huh?

The Lakers should not have done that.

