NBA Roundtable

Scola Staying In Houston

In Free Agency, General NBA on April 9, 2010 at 10:26 pm

The Houston Chronicle reports

Luis Scola wants to be back with the Rockets, but the adventurer in him is open to moving on.

As much as he appreciated Rockets general manager Daryl Morey’s declaration that the team would sign Scola this off-season or match any offer he gets, Scola knew general managers often say such things to scare off offers to restricted free agents.

Morey, however, sought to end any lingering doubt.

“He will be back,” Morey said. And in case that were not clear enough, Morey added the weight of owner Leslie Alexander’s marching orders to his prediction.

“Leslie gave us the resources and said whatever it takes,” Morey said. “He’s back.”

Okay, this issue is pretty much settled at this point. Given that type of strong backing I believe the following:

  • That Daryl Morey will have no inclination not to match an MLE type contract offer, or slightly above the MLE, for Luis Scola … and since Scola is a restricted free agent, that means the Rockets would keep him no matter what in that price range.
  • Secondly, given Scola’s age and talent level, I cannot see any team being willing to offer him a $10 million per annum type of contract.

Consequently, there is no chance Scola leaves the Rockets for another NBA team this summer which is great news for Rockets fans.

Any team who were hoping to make a run at Scola should turn their attention to other free agents.

Interesting Note

An interesting note from Scola in the article

“I like to play for the national team. I like the competition there. It’s a lot of fun and I think it helps me. The off season in the NBA is too long. When I lose shape, I really, really, really lose it. It’s really hard for me to come back in shape. It helps me a lot. It’s what I’ve been doing my whole career. I don’t see any reason why I should change.”

Sounds like Scola is the type of athlete who does better with year long sporting commitments!

