NBA Roundtable

Jennings To Start

In General NBA on October 28, 2009 at 5:23 pm

JSOnline.com reports

Ready or not, rookie Brandon Jennings will be in the Milwaukee Bucks’ starting lineup on opening night Friday in Philadelphia.Bucks coach Scott Skiles confirmed after Tuesday’s practice that Jennings would start and veteran Luke Ridnour would be the primary backup.

“I felt like both guys played really well in the preseason in most of their minutes,” Skiles said. “It’s just my call. Even when I talked to Luke, it’s not like I could give Luke five set reasons.

“It’s something I’m electing to do, start him (Jennings) from opening night and see what happens. It will then depend on how he plays, how we play, all those issues.”

Jennings said it was “a dream come true” to start in the opener, but he stressed that he would need plenty of help from Ridnour and Roko Ukic, the Bucks’ third point guard.

“I am excited, nervous, of course, as all rookies would be,” Jennings said. “I just have to go out there and run the team and stay calm.”

This will be fun.

Keep an eye on Luke Ridnour. He didn’t play well off the bench in preseason for the Bucks, and hasn’t played well when coming off the bench in the past for the Sonics. So this will be a test for him. He might be one of those guys who only plays well when he’s able to start.

As for Skiles and Jennings, I continue to be surprised by how much belief Skiles has in his new point guard. It makes me wonder what he knows that we don’t know!

