NBA Roundtable

Jacks Loses Captaincy?

In General NBA on October 14, 2009 at 9:26 am

The San Francisco Chronicle reports

Stephen Jackson, fresh off a two-game suspension for “conduct detrimental to the team,” met with coach Don Nelson and general manager Larry Riley on Tuesday, practiced with the team and addressed the media. The headline of the 10-minute interview was Jackson’s request to have his captain duties removed.

“I don’t want these young guys to try to follow me,” Jackson said. “I can’t be a role model to guys who make the same amount of money as me. We’re all in the NBA. I don’t want to be a role model.

“Control your own game and what you do. Anytime I say something or get suspended, I don’t blame it on coaches or teammates. I man up, take it and am responsible. I think everybody should be responsible for their own game, how they prepare and how they play. Don’t look at me to get you going. Don’t look at me to get the team going. I think everybody is responsible for themselves, and that’s how it should be.”

Whether or not Jackson has the “C” on his chest or not is irrelevant. Stephen Jackson is the Captain of the Golden State Warriors. He is a born leader who can’t help but be an inspiration to his teammates out there on the court.

Just by being who he is, he’s going to lead the Warriors. He is their emotional leader. Their defensive leader. Their most fearless player. He is a charismatic leader who is loved by his teammates, and followed by his teammates.

Nobody in that locker room has the force of character that Jackson has. Nobody can step into his shoes.

Stephen Jackson is, and will remain, the Captain of the Golden State Warriors.

  1. This saga, has put a damper on what was an otherwise promising summer with Randolph and Curry doing well in the summer league. I hope we can move Jack, but his ridiculous contract makes it hard. If he doesn’t want to be a leader anymore, that’s fine, but he needs to get out of Oakland if he want’s to be like that! Check out our blog http://doin-work.com

  2. Hey chappy81,

    I’d like to see the Warriors trade Jackson off in a salary dump. I don’t think they’ll be able to get talent in the exchange (due to the contract), but removing his contract from the books would be beneficial for the club. The team’s salary cap situation badly needs addressing.

    Unfortunately, I don’t think the Warriors front office is interested in that type of move. So it looks like you’ll be stuck with him for at least another season.

    On another note

    I wouldn’t be concerned with anything Jackson has said in the media, he’s still going to play with the same work ethic and passion that he’s always played with. He’ll still be the same on the court and he’ll be able to win over his teammates. So the negative effect, on the court (basketball wise), isn’t really there.

    It’s just noise. Stuff in the media that doesn’t really matter.

    The only tangible effect I expect to see from this whole episode is the reaction .. not the action (the trade demand, and tantrum, the captaincy) but the reaction … the reaction from the front office and the fans.

    Those will be the people (front office, fans) that decide whether or not this becomes a problem and how damaging the problem will be. The lower the tolerance level, the worse the situation gets. But if the tolerance level is high, then the situation can heal, and things can be good.

Comments are closed.

