NBA Roundtable

Dragic Splits

In General NBA on October 5, 2009 at 7:43 am

I didn’t pay much attention to the Suns following Amare’s injury so I missed most of their second half of the season games. As a result, I missed Dragic’s improved play.

Actually I had no idea that he played better in the second half of the season until I saw it written somewhere … I think it was a John Hollinger chat? I don’t know, I’m not sure. I didn’t mark it down at the time.

The Splits

Check out his pre and post All-Star splits

Games

MPG

PPG

RPG

APG

FG%

3FG%

Pre All Star

26

12.0

2.9

1.8

1.7

31.3%

14.3%

Post All Star

29

14.3

5.9

1.9

2.3

44.0%

45.0%

That’s a fairly large improvement. In the first half of the season he was one of the worst players in the league that had played decent minutes, but statistically he became a serviceable player in the second half of the season.

Shooting Efficiency

The overwhelming majority of Dragic’s progress comes from Dragic’s improved shooting efficiency. He went from shooting 31% from the floor to 44%, from 14% from three point range to 45%.

Yes, the threes were still a low volume. Only 40 attempts in 29 games. But he only took 14 in his first 26 contests. He increased his percentage of threes out of total attempts from 16% to 28%, which shows a fair amount of improved confidence.

Overall, Dragic’s eFG% rose from 32.5% to 50.4%. Obviously that makes a large difference to one’s offensive utility.

Rebounding

Dragic was pulling down almost two rebounds a game in 13 minutes. That’s an impressive total for a point guard. Over 36 minutes that works out to 5.1 rebounds, which is excellent for his position. That can be a good strength for Dragic down the road.

Anyway

Like I said, I didn’t watch the Suns much in the second half of the season due to the Amare Stoudemire injury … so it’s impossible for me to say anything definitive about the guy.

And from the reports I’ve heard/read from his Euroleague play, and from his mixed summer league play (some good games, some bad games), there’s still a lot of concerns about Dragic’s point guard abilities — decision making, control, floor leadership, turnovers, passing — I heard he actually played better as a two guard when representing his country … but I digress …

I just wanted to point out that there was some improvement in Dragic’s game as the season wore on. He took a beating for his performance last year, and rightly so, but there is some reason for hope heading into the future.

  1. Dave,

    Dragic’s improvement should allow Phoenix to give Nash more strategic rest throughout the season. If Earl Clark turns out to be as good as I think he is going to be, at the #3/SF position … the Suns should be in the mix for one of the lower-tiered playoff spots in the WC.

  2. Even before he was drafted, I thought that Dragic was one of the best young European PG’s. His injury in the recent European championship was one of the reasons that Slovenia could not finish higher than 4th.

    Now we all know that it is very difficult for European PG’s to succeed in the NBA and that applies for Dragis as well. Regardless, this kid is a natural … (as you say) not your typical decision making play maker … more like an energetic -turning things around point guard.

  3. Hopefully the Suns have found some good new pieces. When they were running, they were the best team to watch – hopefully they are that again.

Comments are closed.

