NBA Roundtable

SVG Wants VC To Spot Trying To Fit In

In General NBA on September 29, 2009 at 10:22 am

Nice article by Tim Povtak over at NBA Fanhouse

Ever since he was traded to the Orlando Magic almost three months ago, Vince Carter has said all the right things. He’s talked endlessly about fitting in with a team that reached the NBA Finals last season, about altering his game to fit with center Dwight Howard, and about being happy to change the way he has played his entire career.

On Friday, coach Stan Van Gundy finally asked him to stop.

He doesn’t want Carter fitting in. He wants him standing out.

“I don’t want him stepping on the court thinking about fitting in. He can fit in, in the locker room. We didn’t bring him here to be a guy who is just moving the ball,” Van Gundy said. “We want him attacking. I want the guy who has been so good all these years. I want all his greatness.”

Carter adds

Carter chuckled Friday when told about Van Gundy’s remarks.

“Yes, he (Van Gundy) has told me, he wants the guy who beat him in the past, the guy who scored 42 on him,” Carter said Friday. “He said he wants it each and every night. I told him I can still be that guy. But I also said I didn’t care if I averaged 23-25 points a game. I want to average 55-60 wins a season.”

Pound this message into Vince Carter’s head Stan … pound it in.

He’s not a role player … he’s the star … he’s the #1 option in their offense and has to play like it. They need the aggressive Vince Carter in order to beat the Celtics in the playoffs.

