NBA Roundtable

Josh Smith Making Sense

In General NBA on September 13, 2009 at 9:47 am

AJC.com reports the following [quote from Josh Smith]

“I wanted to work more on my decision-making than anything. I handle the ball so much on the fast break and in transition that I wanted to make sure I’m thinking the game the way I need to be. I also worked on my handles and knocking down that mid-range jumper. I’m really not worried about the 3-point ball right now. We have so many guys on this team that can make that shot.

“I don’t have any business being out there this season with Joe Johnson, Mike Bibby, Jamal Crawford, Marvin, Mo and [Jeff] Teague all doing work out there. I have to focus on working in the cracks and making sure that people respect my mid-range game. And if they don’t, we have to make them pay for not respecting it.”

I’m not expecting this to come through … but boy … wouldn’t it be fantastic if he followed through on this?

If Josh Smith could limit all those mental mistakes, it would do wonders for his overall effectiveness out there.

  1. Dave,

    IMO, anyone expecting the Hawks to take a step backwards this season is going to be in for a fairly big surprise.

  2. Who is this guy and what did he do with the real Josh Smith?

  3. Hey Khandor,

    I thought a couple of teams had a good chance to surpass the Hawks this summer, but each one of those teams blew their opportunities to do that.

    Atlanta should be in the same ball park as last season. The fourth, or maybe fifth best team (Washington), who are miles behind the three best teams in the Eastern Conference.

    As always, their youngsters are a pretty big variable … and like last season I’m unsure of how much they’ll accomplish development wise.

    Hey Brothersteve,

    I’m not certain … but I think we’ve heard this before from Josh Smith. Not quite like this, but along similar lines.

    I’ll believe it when I see it.

    If Josh Smith did eliminate a good chunk of his mental mistakes, it would take himself + the Atlanta Hawks to another level.

  4. Josh Smith is approaching the age where super-talented players with individual discipline issues can make a huge leap in performance IF they encounter a coach who is a good fit with their personality and game.

    From my POV, unfortunately, I do not think that Mike Woodson is this coach for Josh Smith.

    Until Josh lucks into the correct circumstances … like Rasheed Wallace did when he found Larry Brown … he will continue to perform beneath the apex of his actual abilities.

    Which is not to say that I think the Hawks will not be improved this season but only that the Best is still yet to come for this young man once he hooks up with the proper mentor on the bench … either in Atlanta or someplace else.

    Now, as I’ve said elsewhere … if Mike Woodson can continue to mature, himself, and become a top flight NBA coach, then, fans of this Hawks team might be in for a real treat this season because there is now a substantial amount of real talent, at the right age, on this squad.

    If Joe Johnson can “make the plays”, wherever they’re needed for this team, Atlanta has a solid shot at advancing to the EC Finals this year … which hasn’t happened for this franchise for a number of seasons.

Comments are closed.

