NBA Roundtable

2009 All Star Reserves

In General NBA on January 25, 2009 at 7:00 am

There are 12 reserve spots for each conference. The coaches must choose two guards, two forwards, one center, and then have two random picks.

With that in mind, here are the players I’d like to see selected.

Eastern Conference

Two Guards

  • Joe Johnson
  • Ray Allen

Two Forwards

  • Chris Bosh
  • Paul Pierce

One Center

  • Zydrunas Ilgauskas

Two Wild Spots

  • Jameer Nelson
  • Vince Carter

Honourable Mentions: Danny Granger, Rajon Rondo, Devin Harris, Rodney Stuckey, Hedo Turkoglu, Rashard Lewis, Andre Iguodala,

Western Conference

Two Guards

  • Brandon Roy
  • Chauncey Billups

Two Forwards

  • Dirk Nowitzki
  • Carmelo Anthony

One Center

  • Shaquille O’Neal

Two Wild Spots

  • Pau Gasol
  • Deron Williams

Honourable Mentions: Paul Millsap, Manu Ginobili, Al Jefferson, Tony Parker, Kevin Durant, David West, Steve Nash

Final Note: All selections are subject to change up until the reserves are officially announced. There could be a good battle for the final spots in each Conference – those final two spots in the East, and final spot in the West, are the one’s which are currently causing me the most trouble in selecting.

  1. I guess you picked Ilgauskas because no other true center qualifies. But Big Z has lost many games due to injury and I prefer not to be so strict with the positions and select the ones that deserve it. You remeber that in the past the East squad selected – unofficially – 3 centers! Something that cannot be done today unless we use the players’ multiple positioning.
    With that in mind I would place Chris Bosh in the reserve center role and select either Granger or Iguodala.

  2. Hey Guru,

    That’s a good call, switching Bosh to center and including Danny Granger or Iggy. Granger was my final cut, so I’d be happy to see him get that spot if it opened up (my first choice for an injury replacement). I’d be happy to see that happen.

    Iguodala has been on a tear lately but his slow start to the season, and inability to play well alongside Brand, are two black marks which I held against him. That’s why I did not pick him. I’d rather see Granger get the spot.

    I’d like to see the Cavs get two players at the All-Star game though, and I think Ilgauskas has been their second best player this season so he was my choice. He’s missed some time but he’s still played in two thirds of their games and is due to return any day now, so I’m comfortable including him.

    So I’ll stick with Z at center for my selections …. but that is a very good choice in switching Bosh to center and picking Granger.

    Update: Follow up on Ilgauksas’ return – Big Z practiced today with the Cavs. Zydrunas said that he’d like to return on Thursday against the Magic, but Mike Brown said there is no timetable for his return just yet.

  3. In the East the coaches will probably pick Devin Harris for sure and probably Danny Granger(Actually I think he could get snubbed for a veteran). Over Ray Allen and Vince Carter. And I think Jameer Nelson gets picked too. Over probably somebody like Ray Allen. Zydrunas Ilgauskas probably doesn’t get picked. And I think he’s injured too.

    In the West I’m pretty sure Deron Williams will get snubbed. I would rather see Steve Nash there because he’s Steve Nash. And I don’t know about Shaq. He might get picked. The thing is Amare was always the backup center to Yao but this year he’s a foward. So for a big man why not LaMarcus Aldridge. Or maybe even Bynum or Nene but probably won’t get picked. Also isn’t Carmelo Anthony injured so if he does get picked he might not play.

  4. Hey Travis,

    Yes, I agree with you, I think Harris is very likely to make the East’s squad. I think he’ll make it ahead of Vince (off of my list). Harris has been getting a lot of credit for the Nets good season. I thought he was a lock until the last month, when Jameer Nelson took off and got noticed, so I think that’s lowered his case somewhat. Still, I think he’s going to get called in …. but in the next week or so, a lot could change in that PG battle in the East. I think LeBron’s public plea for consideration for Mo Williams will put him in the race too.

    I actually think Danny Granger is a lock, likely in the situation cited by Guru up above – with Bosh moving to center and Granger taking one of the forward slots. He’s been getting plaudits from coaches all around the league and his numbers are very impressive, particularly his incredible scoring.

    Out West …. yep, I think Deron gets snubbed again which once again will bug the heck out of me. Although, I think Tony Parker will get his spot and Nash will stay home. Steve Nash does have the whole Phoenix connection (all star game is in Phoenix) going on though, so maybe he gets some extra votes.

    I think Shaq is fairly safe as the backup center, he’s generally regarded as the Suns best player this season. He’ll get that spot.

    I think Carmelo Anthony’s spot is in doubt, that’s going to be a close call. Melo hasn’t been getting a whole lot of love for his play this season, I’ve seen a few writers leave him off their selections, so I’d list him as a possible casualty. Paul Millsap has been superb and might get a spot, instead of Melo, partially in order to represent a really good Utah Jazz team.

  5. You know I don’t think Shaq is an all-star anymore, but there isn’t really anyone else in the Western Conference that is better.

  6. Hey Mathieu,

    I think Shaquille O’Neal is having an excellent season. I think he’s been the best player on that Phoenix Suns team, who have 24 wins and 18 losses are clearly a quality team. He’s also been their best player ahead of top talents like Steve Nash and Amare Stoudemire.

    Shaq is scoring 17.9ppg and pulling down 9.1rpg. He’s doing it on 59.4% shooting from the field and adding 1.54 blocks. O’Neal has been incredibly effective and efficient.

    I think Shaq is having an All-Star caliber season and is very deserving of his All-Star spot.

  7. The deadline for the coaches to submit their votes for the All-Star reserves is tonight, so we should know which players made it, or not, soon enough.

Comments are closed.

