2013 Free Agency

Kenyon Martin Season Ending Injury?

In General NBA on March 5, 2010 at 9:18 pm

More to come on this later …

Appearantly, according to NBATV, Kenyon Martin tore his petellar tendon and is done for the season.

If accurate, that would eliminate the Nuggets as a title contender (outside shot anyway).

Update via Yahoo Sports

Marc Spears reports

Denver Nuggets forward Kenyon Martin has a partial tear of his left patella tendon, and surgery is among the treatment options being considered, NBA sources told Yahoo! Sports.

Martin was scratched from Friday night’s game against the Indiana Pacers and the Nuggets will use the next 48 hours to decide on a treatment plan. Rest, therapeutic injections and surgery are among the options that could be used to treat an injury commonly referred to as “jumper’s knee.”

The Nuggets publicly announced only that Martin is suffering from chronic left knee patella tendinitis. On Friday evening, the team listed his playing status as day-to-day.

Martin has battled pain in his left knee for the past two months. He aggravated the condition when he banged his knee in a Jan. 20 game against the Golden State Warriors and has missed three games over the past four weeks. He underwent an MRI on Thursday after experiencing pain following Wednesday’s win over the Oklahoma City Thunder.

Martin has dealt with knee problems throughout his career, including microfracture surgery to both knees.

It sounds from that report that the Nuggets might try to play Kenyon Martin through the pain.

We’ll have to wait for more before we know for certain whether or not this is a season ending injury.

Another Report via Denver Post

Chris Dempsey writes

Signs are not looking good on forward Kenyon Martin’s troublesome left knee.

Martin missed Friday night’s game against the Indiana Pacers with what, prior to the game, the team said was patella tendonitis. A Yahoo! report later said Martin’s left knee has a partial tear in the patella tendon and might need surgery. Karl shrugged off speculation.

“I’m not going to go there,” Karl said. “I don’t know enough about the injury right now. We’re hoping everything is going to be OK.”

Asked about a possible surgical procedure, Karl said, “I don’t have enough information to elaborate on that, and I really don’t think that’s what Kenyon wants to do right now. He wants to figure out what’s going on first before we release what’s going on.”

Update: Kenyon Martin Talks

NBAFanhouse reports

If a report is accurate that Denver Nuggets power forward Kenyon Martin has a partial tear of his left patella tendon, he said he hasn’t been given that information about his knee.

However, Yahoo! Sports reported unnamed sources as saying Martin has a partial tear of his left patella tendon and surgery is among the treatment options being considered.

“I don’t know where Marc Spears got that from, man,” Martin said in an interview with FanHouse after Friday’s game, referring to the writer of the story. “It’s a little more than tendinitis, but I don’t know if it’s torn. I had an MRI (on Thursday). They looked at it. There’s a lot of speculation going on. … It’s more serious than tendinitis but I don’t know yet.”

Martin said he should know more Saturday. He said MRI results are still being evaluated, and he added no one has told him anything yet.

“The doctors, they’re just now getting to the results so how does anybody else know?” Martin said. “It’s just a report. I’m going on what the doctors say. I’m waiting on Dr. (Richard) Steadman (an outside doctor Martin is seeing in Vail, Colo.) to look at it and give me a synopsis, and then we’ll go to the team doctor and everything else.

It sounds like it’s too early to know what this injury is or is not at this point in time. We’ll have to wait.

Another Update That Lacks Clarity

Yahoo Sports reports

When Martin might return remains up in the air.

The team recently announced that Martin will begin platelet rich plasma therapy—a treatment which uses a patient’s own blood components to stimulate healing—with hopes that he’ll return this season, maybe in the playoffs.

“That’s one of our anchors,” Billups said. “That’s bad news for us. But the good news is there is light at the end of the tunnel.”

He’s been playing through persistent pain and swelling in the knee the last few weeks. The condition, which the Nuggets have described as chronic patella tendinitis, has apparently worsened in recent days, leading Martin to try PRP therapy.

“That’s one guy we’re going to miss playing without, especially defensively,” Billups said. “There’s no one person that can come in and make up for everything that he does.”

So, no clear idea of when Martin is expected to return but it sounds hopeful that he’ll be back at some point before or during the playoffs.

Denver Post Updates

  • Martin awaits test results — link — similar to NBAFanhouse report up above
  • Nothing yet on Kenyon — link
  • Martin will return this season — link — similar to Yahoo Sports quote directly above
  • Martin will be back but perhaps not until the playoffs — link

The second article

Martin said he expects to get more information from a team of doctors, which includes Steadman and Nuggets doctor, Dr. Steve Traina, on Monday. Then he’ll know exactly what the issue is, and what course of action he’ll take to rehab the problem. Martin said he had an MRI on the knee on Friday.

“If they tell me that it’s something more serious than I think it is and I got to get surgery, then I’ll have to do that,” Martin said. “But if they say I can rest and it will heal and I can play, then I’m going to do that. So, it’s just trying to let them get together, let the doctors put their heads together and see what it is and what I need to do and that’s what it’s going to be.”

The fourth article

The pain has persisted, and now Martin will miss an undetermined amount of time while undergoing platelet rich plasma (PRP) therapy. He plans to return this season, although perhaps not until the NBA playoffs, the team announced Monday. Martin began the PRP therapy Monday.

It continues

According to the website of the Steadman Hawkins Clinic in Vail, where doctors have worked with Martin’s knee, PRP therapy is “an ‘autologous blood therapy’ that uses a patient’s own blood components to stimulate a healing response in damaged tissues. In response to an injury or tissue damage, your body naturally recruits platelets and white blood cells from the blood to initiate a healing response.”

Slightly more information than before but still not definitive timetable for Martin’s return.

Update: Denver Post says Martin’s first PRP treatment is done + that Martin is expected to be out for a few weeks. There is about a month left in the regular season.

  1. If this intial report is accurate, the loss of K-Mart … to this type of injury … would spell the death of Denver’s chances to advance to the NBA Finals this season.

  2. Dave,

    FYI. Seems as though the initial report you referenced might have been a bit premature. There’s a big difference between what’s commonly known as “jumper’s knee” and a “torn patella tendon” injury. Time will tell how bad K-Mart’s actual injury is and too what extent the remainder of his season is in jeopardy. For the Nuggets’ sake, let’s hope that he and they can proceed without resorting to any type of full-blown surgical intervention.

  3. Khandor,

    Yes, some good news for the Nuggets. Or at least … it’s not bad news yet.

    I don’t know if you saw them or not but I added a couple of updates onto the post. The most up to date article I’ve seen is the Chris Tommsson article on NBAFanhouse (linked above) which quotes Kenyon Martin as saying that he’s still waiting on the doctors test results to know exactly how serious the injury is and will then decide on how to deal with it.

    Martin should have gotten those results today. Still no word from the Nuggets though.

  4. Dave,

    Sorry … just saw now that you already have that link posted.

  5. End Of March Update

    An update on Kenyon Martin’s situation — link — now the end of March, almost three weeks later

    Will Kenyon Martin take the court again this season?

    Even as he continues to strengthen his injured left knee with hopes of returning, Martin has also accepted he may have already played his final game. He described his chances of playing in any of the Nuggets’ remaining seven regular-season games as “dim.”

    Martin missed his 14th consecutive game Monday when the Dallas Mavericks beat the Nuggets 109-93. He has been undergoing platelet-rich plasma therapy, which involves injecting his blood into his knee to help spur tendon recovery. While Martin says his knee feels better, he so far has been limited to riding a bicycle. He just began lifting weights on Monday and doesn’t know when doctors plan to ramp up his rehabilitation program.

    “Realistically, I might not be able to play this year. …I might not be able to play the rest of the year,” Martin told Yahoo! Sports. “That’s what I’m realistic about, that I might not be able to. It’s still up in the air. But, I’m going to do all I can to make sure. I’m going to put my best foot forward and work hard every day to make sure I get back, but if it’s not meant to be, then it’s out of my control.

    “Nobody will ever be upset that I didn’t try. They will never be able to say that. I’ve fought through stuff worse than that.”

    Some more on the treatment he’s receiving

    “They said the treatment doesn’t work on everybody,” Martin said. “I’m just waiting. The pain isn’t the same, but the only thing I have been doing is riding the bike. I haven’t done any running. I haven’t done any jumping, haven’t done much of anything to judge it on right now. I’m still optimistic I’m coming back, but I’m also cautious, worried. My pain level has definitely decreased, but it doesn’t mean anything because I’m not playing basketball. That’s what I had to do to judge it on.

    Martin adds

    “But I have to look at it and say, ‘What’s best for Kenyon?’ I’m competitive as they come. For me not to be out there, especially if it’s the worse-case scenario where I’m not in the playoffs…

    “I haven’t ruled out [returning]. …But I got to be a realist at the same time knowing the situation and knowing what I’ve known before about rushing back. If I rush back this left knee, than the next night I’m in the same boat with the other knee from overcompensating, and all that.”

    Start Of April Update

    ESPN reports that Martin has taken another step in his recovery process

    Martin said he has increased his rehab and hasn’t had any setbacks. He said he did light running on the court Thursday and everything went well.

    “Today was a good day. It’s looking positive but I still haven’t played any basketball yet. I don’t know how it’s going to react during the game,” he said.

    Martin would like to comeback near the end of the regular season to get some reps in before the playoffs begin

    Martin opted for the therapy instead of surgery to try to come back for the playoffs.

    “That’s what I’m shooting for. Actually, I’m shooting to see if I can get back before then because I don’t think it’s going to be good for me to come out with a playoff game as my first game in a month and a half,” he said. “We all know playoff basketball is different so I’ll probably need a game or two under my belt if that’s possible. If not, I’ll deal with it and do what I’ve got to do.”

  6. Early April Update

    Kenyon Martin is hoping to return to practice tomorrow after a month out on the sidelines

    The Nuggets are hoping that Martin will return to practice Tuesday after being out for a month with patellar tendinitis in his left knee.

    Acting head coach Adrian Dantley said he wasn’t sure what Martin would be able to do at practice Tuesday or even if he’ll be able to withstand the pain enough to participate in drills.

    More on Kenyon’s basketball activities

    The Nuggets are less certain about Martin’s left knee.

    “I haven’t heard anything,” Dantley said. “All I know is he was on the court today. It’s Kenyon’s decision. When he says he’s feeling good, that’s when he’ll practice. That’s when he’ll play.”

    Martin shot baskets Monday before reporters were allowed to watch.

    “He probably made some,” Dantley said. “But we need his rebounding more than we need his shooting. [We need] his defense.”

    The Nuggets listed “limited practice tomorrow” next to his name on the daily injury report Monday, but Dantley didn’t have any plans in place for his power forward.

    “That’s up to the doctor and trainer,” Dantley said. “I don’t know anything about that.”

    Update: April 10th Return Date

    Tentative return date for Kenyon Martin — link

    Kenyon Martin, the Denver Nuggets’ top defensive player and a force on the boards, hopes to return as soon as Saturday from the left knee injury that has sidelined him for the last five weeks.

    “I just don’t want to go out there rusty, right into a game situation,” Martin said. “The last three games are a possibility. It will depend on how I feel. If I’m in any pain or what not, then no. But as of right now, I don’t have any pain. But I’ve got to do one of these last three if I’m going to play [before the playoffs].”

    Kenyon’s most recent workout went well

    and returned to the court for the first time since then on Wednesday in a 1-on-1 basektball session in Oklahoma City against assistant coach Jamahl Mosley prior to the team’s game against the Thunder.

    “I went pretty hard and I felt good,” Martin said.

    He followed that with a workout Thursday at the team’s practice facility that included a round of shooting.

    “I’ve definitely made a lot of progress, a lot of progress,” he said. “I’m shooting the ball well upstairs but I want to play one of these last few games.”

    Good news for Nuggets fans. They need Kenyon Martin healthy and playing well to make a run in the playoffs.

    Update — The previous report was accurate, Kenyon Martin will play tonight against the San Antonio Spurs — link.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

